NAPALM DEATH new album “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” enters international charts!



UK Grindcore pioneers NAPALM DEATH have just released their new studio album “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” via Century Media Records and have not only received great media feedback (see below), but have also placed highly on several international sales charts as follows:


Germany: # 18

Austria: # 37       

Switzerland: # 26

Finland: # 35

Belgium: # 88

Spain: # 78

France: # 120

UK (Rock Chart): # 3


USA Charts:

# 5 Top New Artist Albums

# 6 Current Hard Music Albums

# 14 Current Rock Albums

# 41 Top Current Albums

# 48 Current Digital Albums

# 57 Digital Albums

# 58 Billboard Top AlbumsCheck out the singles/videos that NAPALM DEATH have released for the new album so far:

“Backlash Just Because”:


“A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen”:


And check out a “Metal Talks” episode with NAPALM DEATH vocalist Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway via Spotify here:


“Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” is the highly anticipated follow-up to 2015’s acclaimed “Apex Predator – Easy Meat” album and the 16th (!) studio album effort by NAPALM DEATH. It was again recorded with longtime producer Russ Russell and features artwork by Frode Sylthe.


From the pinnacle of confrontational instrumental extremity and steadfast lyrical humanity, NAPALM DEATH’s new album warps musical landscapes all over again. “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” includes 12 songs seething with caustic evolution and unrelenting scope. Here is the track-listing for the standard edition of the album:


NAPALM DEATH - “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” (42:26)

  1. Fuck the Factoid (02:29)
  2. Backlash Just Because (02:56)
  3. That Curse of Being in Thrall (03:36)
  4. Contagion (04:05)
  5. Joie De Ne Pas Vivre (02:28)
  6. Invigorating Clutch (04:05)
  7. Zero Gravitas Chamber (04:03)
  8. Fluxing of the Muscle (04:33)
  9. Amoral (03:05)
  10. Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism (02:55)
  11. Acting in Gouged Faith (03:37)
  12. A Bellyful of Salt and Spleen (04:36)


Next to the Jewelcase CD edition of the album, “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” is also available as Digital album and as limited Mediabook CD (+ Patch) with 3 bonus-tracks: “Feral Carve-up” (02:49), “White Kross” (04:06, Sonic Youth cover-version) and “Blissful Myth” (01:52, Rudimentary Peni cover-version). The LP version of the album comes on 180g vinyl and includes a double-sided A2 poster as well as the bonus-track “Air’s Turned Foul in Here” (02:59). Please note that the vinyl release in the USA has been postponed to October 16th, 2020.


Order “Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism” here:



Mark ‘Barney’ Greenway - Bawling, shrieking, intermittent baritone

Shane Embury - Bass reverberations, barks and moans, noise-testing everyday objects

Danny Herrera - Turbulent beat throes



Die mit einem * markierten Felder sind Pflichtfelder.

Ich habe die Datenschutzbestimmungen zur Kenntnis genommen.